WWW. SHA AF FUR STAT

~

- (v) The following representatives holding the rank of Lecturer or higher:
 - 2 from the Faculty of Arts and Humanities
 - 2 from the Faculty of Science
 - 1 from the Faculty of Information and Media Studies
 - 1 from the Faculty of Education
 - 1 from the Faculty of Engineering
 - 1 from the Faculty of Health Sciences
 - 1 from the Faculty of Law
 - 1 from each of the Affiliated University Colleges
- (vi) Such other members as the Senate may, from time to time, determine.
- 5. Members of the above categories shall be entitled to participate fully in meetings of the Council, i.e., to speak, to propose motions, to vote.
- 6. The Council shall meet at least two times each year, normally in Fall and Spring, and at such other times as the Council, Chair or Senate may prescribe. A minimum of 20 members of the Council shall constitute a quorum.
- A special meeting of the Council may be called on the written notice of twelve (12) of its members, and shall be convened within ten (10) days thereafter, to consider the matter(s) set out in the notice.
- 8. The Council shall advise Senate on all matters under the jurisdiction of the Senate which are pertinent to the Faculty of Social Science or referred to the Council by the Senate, and shall determine policy on all such matters if so delegated by the Senate.
- 9. The Council shall establish such other committees as it considers necessary. The Council may delegate authority to its committees but these shall be responsible to the Council.
- 10. Nominations proposed by the Nominating Committee for the election of members to Departmental and Faculty Committees, and to other bodies within the University, shall be circulated electronically with a request for additional nominations.
- 11. Elections held by Council to appoint members to Departmental and Faculty Committees and to other bodies within the University, may be held by electronic vote.
- 12. The by-laws and regulations for the conduct of the Council's proceedings shall, where practicable, be those adopted by the Senate.